‘Sweet 16’ gets a little sweeter!

So, this cake I’m featuring is not actually ‘summer-themed,’ but the summer is all about celebrating birthdays since the kids are out of school and free time is more abundant.  Although I made this topsy turvy cake a while ago, I thought about featuring it after I received a little teenage inspiration.

Recently, I went to my hometown to visit my mom and brought back my 15-year-old cousin.  Never have I watched so much MTV and TeenNick in one setting, and this is coming from a semi-hardcore 90’s teeny bopper (N’Sync was the group and I could ‘Genie in a Bottle’ with the best of them).  I honestly don’t know what’s worse: coming to the realization that I can’t really relate to teens anymore, or actually engaging in these teen shows (yelling at teenagers on TV at 29 years old is not okay).

Here is the cake I made for a girl celebrating her ‘Sweet 16.’  I never knew how easy it was to make a small topsy turvy like this one.  Although…I’m looking at the ’16’ on top of the cake and I cringe.  I’ve definitely improved my skills since this cake.

Anywho, I hope all you summer babies have a wonderful birthday.  As for me, after my cousin leaves tomorrow I will undergo a full on teenage TV show detox; but for now, I’m going to continue watching ‘Rugrats’ and I’m going to enjoy it.  😉

About Sweet Cakes

Sweets Cakes is a custom cake, cupcake and cookie business in Dallas. We serve the North Texas area so contact us if you're interested in 'sweet' treats for any occasion!
This entry was posted in Birthday Cakes, Fondant Cover and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

