It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Finally, I can actually say it really is beginning to look a lot like Christmas here in Texas.  Okay, if by ‘like Christmas’ I mean it’s 55 degrees and the sun is still out, but hey, I’ll take what I can get.

December came entirely too quickly for me, and since I’m moving at the end of the year and starting a new job soon, my creativity is non existent.  I know decorated cookies are the obvious answer to creative baked goods this month, but I know I didn’t want to make the traditional Christmas cookie shapes.  I had something else in mind…

Jack in the Box cookie for Dallas Morning News cookie contest

Confession: this cookie was actually made in November for the ‘Dallas Morning News’ Holiday Cookie Contest, but it still counts, right?  I didn’t win the contest (as I’ve said before it’s the story of my culinary life), but I’m pretty proud of it, and I’m incredibly critical of my work.

Enough about me, now about the cookie:  I didn’t have a cookie cutter for the actual elf so I took different elf and jack-in-the-box drawings, created this look and there you go!  The green outfit and fringe are fondant and every other element is royal icing.

You can still vote for it as a favorite here:  Cookie Contest.

About Sweet Cakes

Sweets Cakes is a custom cake, cupcake and cookie business in Dallas. We serve the North Texas area so contact us if you're interested in 'sweet' treats for any occasion!
This entry was posted in Cookies, Fondant Cover and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

