Life is like a box of chocolate…cake

As the saying goes ‘Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get’…unless you take a bite out of every chocolate in the box to find the ones you like (I know I’m not the only one who does that.)

I wanted to piggyback off the box of chocolates idea, and knew Valentine’s would be the perfect time to recreate it.  It’s something I wanted to make last year, but didn’t have time.  This year I was determined to bring this idea to life after receiving some inspiration from Rosie of Sweetapolita, who created an amazing depiction of chocolates made out of cake. 

Time was a big issue for me (as in I didn’t have any) so I decided to forego carving, stacking and filling cakes and just made the ‘chocolates’ cakeball style.  The dark chocolate…’chocolates,’ are covered with dark chocolate ganache and the other ‘chocolates’ are covered with fondant.  I wanted to paint the pink heart a shiny red, but I was told pure red luster dust doesn’t exist.  There are definitely some other adjustments I would make if I had more time, but this is a good start. 

box of chocolates...cakes

About Sweet Cakes

Sweets Cakes is a custom cake, cupcake and cookie business in Dallas. We serve the North Texas area so contact us if you're interested in 'sweet' treats for any occasion!
This entry was posted in Holiday Cakes, Sculpted Cakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

