Happy Valentine’s Day!!

With inspiration from the crossword puzzle cookie I made last year, I decided to keep the fun and games going by making an actual puzzle cookie.

Lesson I learned:  you can’t slice the cookie before you bake it because you may not be able to put it back together.  Yes, I’m reluctantly admitting that I could not put back together my own puzzle.  It was partly because I didn’t lay out the pieces in the heart shape before baking, and also because the cookie pieces spread slightly, leaving the heart a bit out of shape.

Now on to cookie number 2:  I cut out the heart shape (I couldn’t find a cutter that big so I used the trusty Exacto knife), I then traced the letters into the cookie (be careful not to cut all the way through the cookie).  As soon as I pull the cookie out of the oven I cut the puzzle pieces.  It keeps the pieces an accurate size and keeps the puzzle pieces in place.

I had to rush to complete this cookie (it wasn’t for a client; just the blog) so next time I will be more careful with my icing so it won’t run over the sides and the pieces will fit closer together.

I was going title this post ‘Have a Piece of my Heart,’ but that’s too cheesy…even for me.  I’m just going to keep it simple and say ‘Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!’

Valentine's Puzzle Cookie

About Sweet Cakes

Sweets Cakes is a custom cake, cupcake and cookie business in Dallas. We serve the North Texas area so contact us if you're interested in 'sweet' treats for any occasion!
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  1. Michael says:

    Looks great very creative Chree!

Leave a Reply

