The dog cake!

I have a great obsession with love for dogs; they’re the most loyal, wonderful animals and I can’t wait until I have one of my own.  Now when it comes to dogs in cake form, I’ve avoided making one like the plague.  One day I knew it would eventually catch up to me…and it finally did.  How, you ask?

My father celebrated his birthday Wednesday, but this past weekend we threw him a surprise party.  Of course I was tasked with the cake and I had two choices: a ‘Star Trek’ ship or a dog cake in honor of his dog ‘Mutley,’ (or ‘Mutty Mutt’).  I had to go with the lesser of two evils (there was no way I was making a ‘Star Trek’ ship…yet).  

I’m a big fan of Elisa Strauss of Confetti Cakes so I stayed glued to her dog sculpting video as I made my cake.  She, being the expert, carved the dog’s head out of styrofoam, but I couldn’t find styrofoam that’s easy to cut so I used marshmallow treats…not a good idea!  Even if you coat it in buttercream to harden, as soon as it thaws that dog head is coming down.  That is why the right side of the dog’s face is a little droopy in the photo…and his nose is not quite centered, ha! 

Other than that I kind of like him for my first attempt.  I love trying out new cake ideas on family because you can work out the kinks. 

Schnauzer cake

About Sweet Cakes

Sweets Cakes is a custom cake, cupcake and cookie business in Dallas. We serve the North Texas area so contact us if you're interested in 'sweet' treats for any occasion!
This entry was posted in Sculpted Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

